Table of Contents

What is Ethereum (ETH)?

Navigation

Ether, launched in 2015, is a currency created by Ethereum technology. Similar to Bitcoin, Ethereum is a blockchain-based system. However, unlike Bitcoin's single use as an alternative currency, Ethereum can be used to build a variety of decentralized applications. From a transaction point of view, the focus can be on the feature of Ether to replace traditional currencies.

Ethereum was launched in August 2015. Initially, the value of Ether was about US$2.8, and then the price continued to rise steadily. Ether once rose to 21.5 US dollars, the current price is about 12 US dollars, and the market value is about 1 billion US dollars. Unlike Bitcoin, Ethereum has not yet established its status as a mainstream currency, so its development is vulnerable to major events.

Ethereum vs. Bitcoin: the main difference

  1. The emergence of Ether is not to replace currency, and Bitcoin is regarded as a new type of payment method. The initial purpose of Ethereum was to serve users on the platform, such as the development of Ethereum wallet applications.
  2. The supply of Ether is unlimited, while the supply of Bitcoin is limited (issuance ends in 2140). There is no maximum limit for Ethereum, and the supply of this currency is driven by its source code developers and miners.
  3. Bitcoin transactions take a long time: a Bitcoin transaction takes about 10 minutes to complete, while an Ethereum transaction takes only 15 seconds, which increases liquidity and volatility.
  4. Owner: Almost all bitcoins are mined by early miners, while Ether is obtained from crowdfunding, which means that this currency is mainly owned by the user group who bought it. It is estimated that in the next five years, this balance will lean towards Ethereum miners.

Content comes from the web

**This article is not investment advice**

Share this article
Previous What is Litecoin (LTC)?
Next What is Bitcoin (BTC)?

Download iBTC mobile app
Feel the best trading experience

Download iBTC mobile app
Feel the best trading experience

什麼是以太幣(ETH)?

你的位置:

於2015年推出的以太幣是依靠以太坊技術創造的一種貨幣。與比特幣類似,以太坊是一個以區塊鍊為基礎的系統。但是,與比特幣僅被用作替代貨幣的單一用途所不同的是,以太坊可用於搭建多種去中心化應用。從交易的角度來看,重點可以放在以太幣替代傳統貨幣的特性上。

以太幣在2015年8月推出。最初以太幣的價值約為2.8美元,隨後價格持續穩步上揚。以太幣最高曾上漲至21.5美元,現價約為12美元,市值為10億美元左右。與比特幣不同,以太幣尚未確立其作為主流貨幣的地位,因此其發展容易受到重大事件的影響。

以太幣 vs. 比特幣:主要區別

  1. 以太幣的出現並非為了取代貨幣,而比特幣被視為一種新型支付方式。以太幣最初出現的目的是要服務平台上的用戶,如以太坊錢包應用的開發。
  2. 以太幣的供應是無限的,而比特幣的供應量是有限的(發行截止於2140年)。以太幣沒有最高限制,這種貨幣的供應量受其源代碼開發者和礦工推動。
  3. 比特幣交易所需時間較長:一次比特幣交易大約需要10分鐘才能完成,而以太幣的交易則只需15秒,從而增加了流動性和波動性。
  4. 所有者:幾乎所有的比特幣都是由早期的礦工挖掘而得,以太幣則是眾籌而得,也就是說這種貨幣主要由購買它的用戶群所擁有。預計後五年,此天平將傾向於以太坊的礦工。

內容來自網絡

**本文不是投資建議**